Volunteers & Groups Celebrated at the dlr Community and Volunteer Awards 2024

General News
Community & Volunteer Awards - Councillor Denis O'Callaghan
Community & Volunteer Awards
Community & Volunteer Awards - Therese Langan
Community & Volunteer Awards

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council were delighted to host the dlr Community and Volunteer Awards event earlier this week. The Awards brought together community groups and volunteers and provided an opportunity for the Council to recognise and celebrate the number of people and projects across our county which all contribute to make this a vibrant place to live.

The awards were presented by An Cathaoirleach of Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Cllr Denis O’Callaghan and Therese Langan, Director of Services, Community and Cultural Development in dlr.

Speaking at the event Cllr O’Callaghan said:

“These awards help to celebrate the excellent work achieved by our volunteers and groups working together, striving to make a difference in their respective communities. It is wonderful to see such amazing work happening around the County. You all bring a wealth of knowledge, skills, commitment, and creativity to your communities. You should be highly commended.”

This year’s event saw 61 community groups and 54 volunteers formally acknowledged and celebrated for their positive contributions to community life across the County; together they promote a wealth of community development activities in different areas including child and youth development, age friendly, arts and culture, environment and climate action, inclusion and integration, health and wellbeing, disability and neurodiversity and civic pride.


The awards were divided into eight categories with awards given out to groups & individuals in each category.


Age Friendly

  • Group Winner: Shankill Day Care Centre
  • Group Runner Up: Garda Old Persons Association (GOPA)
  • Volunteer Winner: Richard Larkin, Ballyogan Active Retirement Group


Arts & Culture

  • Group Winner: Dublin South FM Community Radio
  • Group Runner Up: Art Hill
  • Volunteer Winner: Sally Connors, Southside Travellers Action Group (STAG)


Child/Youth Development & Education

  • Group Winner: Southside Partnership Parents Early Education Programme (PEEP)
  • Group Runner Up: My Project… Minding You
  • Volunteer Winner: Donncha O’Dhonnchadha, Le Cheile Mentoring


Community & Civic Pride

  • Group Winner: Shankill & Ballybrack Community First Responders
  • Group Runner Up: Dún Laoghaire Lions Club
  • Volunteer Winner: Georgina Potts, Shanganagh Park House Community Centre


Disability & Neurodiversity

  • Group Winner: St. Augustine’s Past Pupils Association
  • Group Runner Up: This Is Me Neurodiversity
  • Volunteer Winner: Graham Merrigan, National Rehabilitation Hospital & Ballybrack Bulls Wheelchair Basketball Club


Environment & Climate Action

  • Group Winner: Shanganagh Community Garden
  • Group Runner Up: Dún Laoghaire Tidy Towns
  • Volunteer Winner: Fiona Kelly, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Estate Management County Fora


Equality, Diversity, Inclusion & Integration

  • Group Winner: dlr Integration Forum
  • Group Runner Up: The Ukrainian Bike Project Operators
  • Volunteer Winner: Brian Connolly, Loughlinstown Ballybrack Men’s Shed


Health & Wellbeing

  • Group Winner: Hollyhouse Women’s Social Group
  • Group Runner Up: Southside Travellers Wagon Project
  • Volunteer Winner: Grainne Gallwey, Cuidiú


Special Recognition Awards

  • Nan O’Brien, Southside Travellers
  • Harry Traynor, Wayside Celtic
  • Mairead Mc Loughlin, Kilcross Resource Centre
  • Pam Robinson, Patrician Community Centre


Therese Langan, Director of Services, Community and Cultural Development in dlr thanked the volunteers and community groups for their ongoing commitment and work, supporting and connecting through local activities and shared interests which is at the heart of what community development is all about.


View all

We care about your feedback. Have your say.

Is this page useful?

Any concerns with your local area?

Report a problem with the Council