Dún Laoghaire Harbour was built between the years 1817 and 1842. The Harbour, and the railway that was built to service it, transformed the character of the small fishing village then known as Dunleary. In a very short period a suburban town of considerable scale sprung into existence. It became known as Kingstown after the visit to the Harbour by George IV in 1821. The mail service that was transferred from Howth in 1826 gave added significance and importance to the town, while the railway built by James Pim, which serviced the mail, also made it possible for great numbers of civil servants, bank officials, merchants and tradesmen to commute daily into Dublin while retiring in the evening to the pleasant environs of the sea.
The documents below detail the rich heritage of the harbour and the plans to safeguard it for generations to come.