DLR Community Groups win at the Pride of Place Awards

General News
Public Notices
dlr LexIcon

Two community groups from Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown won awards at the Pride of Place Awards held this month. The annual Pride of Place Awards celebrate and recognise voluntary work of Communities and Community Groups all over the island of Ireland. The two winners were:

• Rathsallagh / Shanganagh / Clifton Estate Management group were awarded Runner Up in the Housing Estates Category
• Samuel Beckett Civic Campus, Ballyogan being awarded Runner Up in the Population over 5000 Category

Councillor Mary Hanafin, Cathaoirleach, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, said:

Shanganagh and Ballyogan richly deserve these awards for their valuable contribution to their local communities.

The Pride of Place Awards is an annual competition organised by peacebuilding charity Co-operation Ireland and sponsored by IPB Insurance. The awards were established to promote and celebrate the best in community development and recognise the efforts of people to make their local neighbourhoods better places to live, work and socialise.

Frank Curran, Chief Executive, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, said:

This is a huge achievement for the winners, DLR’s Community Section work closely with Community Groups throughout the County.  We are delighted to have nominated these groups for a Pride of Place award and that both groups have received recognition for their work to change and improve daily lives in their communities.


View all

We care about your feedback. Have your say.

Is this page useful?

Any concerns with your local area?

Report a problem with the Council