Dublin Agglomeration Noise Action Plan 2024-2028

What We Are Doing

The Local Authorities of the Dublin Agglomeration (Dublin City Council, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, Fingal County Council, South Dublin County Council, Wicklow County Council and Kildare County Council) are preparing a Noise Action Plan to cover the whole of the Dublin agglomeration. The Noise Action Plan has been informed by and is based on the Strategic Noise Maps which were prepared for the agglomeration of Dublin in 2022 and which cover transport (road and rail) and industry related environmental noise sources.


Why We Are Doing It

The Noise Action Plan is required under the Environmental Noise Directive (“END”) (2002/49/EC) which was transported into Irish law through the European Communities (Environmental Noise) Regulations 2018 (S.I. 549/2018) and the European Communities (Environmental Noise) (Amendment) Regulations 2021 (S.I. 663/2021). The regulations require Strategic Noise Maps and Noise Action Plans to be made or revised every five years.


When We Are Doing It

This Noise Action Plan covers Round 4 of the implementation of the END. The final Noise Action Plan must be completed and issued to the Environment Protection Agency (EPA) by the 18th of July 2024 and subsequently issued by the EPA to the EU Commission by the end of January 2025.


Requirements of Noise Action Plan

The Environmental Noise Directive (END) requires local authorities to draw-up plans of action which will include measures to "address priorities which may be identified by the exceeding of any relevant limit value or by other criteria chosen by the Member State and apply in particular to the most important areas as established by strategic noise mapping."  It also requires plans to identify and protect “quiet areas against an increase in noise."


Why Your Views Matter

There will be a period of formal public consultation from 9:00am on Friday, 12th of April 2024, until 5:00pm on  Friday, 24th of May 2024, and members of the public are welcome to submit their views on this draft Dublin Agglomeration Noise Action Plan.

If you have particular comments on the Plan we would welcome your views. Submissions may be made by one of the following methods:

  • Providing your details and comments in the consultation form below.
  • By email to airquality@dublincity.ie
  • In writing to Air Quality Monitoring and Noise Control Unit, Environment & Transportation Department, Block 3 Floor 1, Civic Offices, Wood Quay, Dublin 8. 


Further Information

This Noise Action Plan covers the whole of the Dublin Agglomeration which includes the complete or partial administrative area of the six Local Authorities mentioned above. Readers are therefore referred to the following structure of the Noise Action Plan to help direct them to the relevant section(s) that may be applicable to their area and interest.

  • Chapters 1 to 9: Background and general to the Agglomeration as a whole.
  • Chapter 10: Dublin City Council specific.
  • Chapter 11: Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council specific.
  • Chapter 12: Fingal County Council specific.
  • Chapter 13: Kildare County Council specific.
  • Chapter 14: South Dublin County Council specific.
  • Chapter 15: Wicklow County Council specific.


The Draft Noise Action Plan is available to read below, or you can download the PDF form the related documents section below.


More information on environmental noise and the Dublin Noise Action Plan 2018-2023 can be found here.

Strategic Noise Maps
Strategic Noise Map - All Rail Lnight
1.96 MB
PDF Document
Strategic Noise Map - All Roads
2.01 MB
PDF Document
Strategic Noise Map - Industry Lden
2.06 MB
PDF Document
Strategic Noise Map - Industry Lnight
1.95 MB
PDF Document
Strategic Noise Map - Major Rail Lden
2.05 MB
PDF Document
Strategic Noise Map - Major Rail Lnight
1.96 MB
PDF Document
Strategic Noise Map - Major Roads Lnight
1.96 MB
PDF Document

We care about your feedback. Have your say.

Is this page useful?

Any concerns with your local area?

Report a problem with the Council