There are 60 seats in the Seanad, and 43 Members are elected from five vocational panels representing culture and education, agriculture, labour, industry and commerce, and public administration. Members of the current Dáil, the outgoing Seanad and the county councils are entitled to vote in Seanad panel elections. Again, the system used is proportional representation with a single transferrable vote.

The new Taoiseach nominates a further 11 Members to the Seanad. The final six Senators are elected by the graduates of certain universities, three by the <u>National University of Ireland</u> and three by the <u>University of Dublin, Trinity College</u>.