<u>Chairpersons Report of the Transportation and Marine Strategic Policy</u> <u>Committee held on Tuesday, 9th March 2021</u>

Report by Chairperson Councillor Daniel Dunne

The Chairperson, Councillor Daniel Dunne presided.

In attendance were Cllr Marie Baker, Cllr Shay Brennan, Cllr Maurice Dockrell, Cllr Deirdre Donnelly, Cllr. Eva Elizabeth Dowling, Cllr Daniel Dunne, Cllr Kate Feeney, Cllr Lorraine Hall, Cllr Sean McLoughlin, Cllr Peter O'Brien, Cllr Maeve O'Connell and Cllr Carrie Smyth, Mr. Gregory Alken, Ms. Emma Cahill, Ms. Frances Kelly, Mr. Aaron Moore, Ms. Julie Mulleady, Mr. Pat Neill and Mr. John Nolan.

Officials Present: Tom McHugh (A/Chief Executive), Aidan Blighe (A/Director of Municipal Services), Andree Dargan (County Architect, Architects), Martin Allidine (Senior Executive Officer, Municipal Services), Bob Hannon (Senior Architect), Sean McGrath (Senior Engineer, Traffic, Municipal Services), James Phelan (A/Senior Engineer, Road Maintenance, Public Lighting, Roads Control, Cleansing, Beaches & Coastal Protection, Municipal Services), Patricia Doherty (Administrative Officer, Municipal Services), Tim Ryan (Dún Laoghaire Harbour Operations Manager, Municipal Services), Gary Loughlin (Senior Executive Architect, Architects), John Broderick (Senior Executive Engineer, Traffic, Municipal Services), Gerard Flaherty (Senior Executive Engineer, Traffic and Sustainable Travel, Municipal Services), Grainne McDermott (Senior Executive Engineer, Traffic, Municipal Services), Richard Dowling (Assistant Engineer, Traffic, Municipal Services), Francis Nolan, (Senior Staff Officer, Traffic, Municipal Services), Sue McMahon (Senior Staff Officer, Road Maintenance, Public Lighting, Roads Control, Cleansing, Beaches & Coastal Protection, Municipal Services), Deirdre Cronin (Senior Staff Officer, Parking, Harbour & Secretariat, Municipal Services), Irene Kirwan (Staff Officer, Roads Control, Cleansing, Beaches & Coastal Protection, Municipal Services), Michelle Gavin (Staff Officer, Parking, Harbour & Secretariat, Municipal Services), Lydia Nicholson, (Assistant Staff Officer, Roads Control, Cleansing, Beaches & Coastal Protection, Municipal Services), Jean Finegan (Assistant Staff Officer, Parking, Harbour & Secretariat, Municipal Services), Emma Mullen (Clerical Officer, Parking, Harbour & Secretariat, Municipal Services) and Geraldine McGarry (Clerical Officer, Parking, Harbour & Secretariat, Municipal Services).

Guest Speaker:

Mr. Brian Caulfield (Associate Professor, Trinity College, Dublin)

- Minutes of Transportation and Marine SPC Meeting held remotely on Microsoft Teams meeting, on Tuesday 8th December 2020 and Special Meeting of Transportation and Marine SPC held remotely on Microsoft Teams on 22nd January 2021 be ADOPTED and APPROVED
- 2. Items for written reply: Reply was noted

3. Business submitted by Director of Services:

- Role of E-scooters in county, including trialing E-scooter sharing scheme, E-scooter contribution to sustainable travel options
- Presentation on e-Scooters by Professor Brian Caulfield
- Update of the status of the plastic spill
- Coastal Water Quality Action Plan
- Signage and Road Markings
- Presentation on benefits and advantages of shared space concepts
- Presentation on Cycling Review 2020

- 4. Business Referred from the Council No business
- 5. Business referred from the Corporate Policy Group No business
- 6. Correspondence: Agreed to be brought back to next meeting of SPC Committee

Correspondence received from Minister Eamonn Ryan, Department of Transport regarding:

- Programme for Government Commitment to legislate for e Scooters
- Policy Proposal on how e Scooters will operate
- TRL the future Of Transport
- 7. Future Work Programme Items for Consideration for Future Work Programme: Agreed to be brought back to next meeting of SPC Committee
 - DLR Beaches and Coastal Bathing Areas
- 8. Any other Business No business