Electoral Services

Notice of Election

Wednesday, April 10, 2019
dlr County
Intro Text 

Local Authority:  Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council

An election of members for each of the local electoral areas of the above-mentioned local authority is about to be held. 

Nomination papers may be obtained from the address below during the usual office hours.

A person may nominate himself/herself as a candidate or may, with his/her consent, be nominated by a proposer who is registered as a local government elector in the local electoral area of the local authority for which he/she proposes to nominate the candidate.

A nomination paper from a candidate of a registered political party must have a certificate of political affiliation attached which must be produced to me with his/her completed nomination paper. 

If no certificate is attached, the candidate must, before the latest time for receiving nominations, either-

  • secure 15 assents to the nomination by way of statutory declarations by local government electors registered in the relevant local electoral area (forms available from me or the registration authority), or
  • make a deposit of €100 (deposit may also be made on the candidate’s behalf).

The latest time for receiving nominations is 12 noon on the 4th day of May, 2019.

Completed nomination papers may be delivered to me in person by the candidate or his/her proposer at any time when I am at my office, from 10am on the 27th day of April, 2019 until 12 noon on the last day for receiving nominations, which is the 4th day of May, 2019.

I am required by law to attend to receive nominations between 10am and 12 noon and between 2pm and 5pm on the 3rd day of May, 2019 and between 10am and 12 noon on the 4th day of May, 2019.

Alternatively if you wish to make an appointment please contact Secretariat Section on 01 2054826.

If the election is contested, a poll will be taken on the 24th day of May, 2019 between the hours of 7am and 10pm.

Returning Officer: Mary T Daly

Address:          Director of Services, Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council

Date:               10th April 2019