Sports & Recreation

Cathaoirleach Sports Awards 2016

News Type 
Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Dun Laoghaire County Hall
Intro Text 

The inaugural Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Cathaoirleach Sports Awards were held on the 30th May 2016 in the County Hall, Marine Road, Dún Laoghaire.

At this event, 14 local athletes were honoured for their achievements in sport and two clubs were rewarded for their significant contribution to their local community.

In Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County, we are fortunate to have nearly 300 clubs providing people of all ages and abilities with a huge variety of excellent sporting and recreational opportunities. The sports people, athletes and clubs honoured at this event have all reached high levels of success in their chosen sport, inspiring the next generation to also participate and perform to their best.

The athletes honoured:

  • Dublin Football Team 2015 - Rory O’Carroll, Cian O’Sullivan, Eoin Culligan, Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne, Nicky Devereux
  • Represented at U19 Irish Cricket - Lorcan & Fiachra Tucker, Tom Stanton
  • Represented U20 IRFU  – Hugo Keenan
  • Oldest Irishman to climb Kilimanjaro – Kevin Gormley
  • Represented U18 FAI – Aaron Robinson
  • Endurance Running Holding the Irish Record for 24 Hour Track Running (244km) 48 Hour Road Running (343km) 6 Day Running (815km) – Eoin Keith

The Clubs that were honoured:

  • Dundrum South Dublin Athletic Club
  • Park Celtic Football Club

Speaking at the ceremony An Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Barry Saul emphasised;

The combination of individuals and clubs here tonight are an excellent example of the positive effect sport can have on a local community and we are proud to have such a selection of sportspeople and organisations based within our County.