Intro Text 

Musicians in Residence 2018


The dlr 2018 Musicians-in-Residence Scheme was jointly funded by the Arts Council, and managed by Music Network. Each residency included rehearsal time in dlr LexIcon Studio, performance opportunities and a fee. The 2 established residencies were awarded to Susan McKeown and Conor Linehan, and the emerging residency was awarded to Craig Cox.

Conor Linehan - dlr LexIcon Residency


Susan McKeown - dlr LexIcon Residency


Conor Linehan

Conor Linehan is a pianist and composer based in Dublin. As a pianist he has performed with the National Symphomy Orchestra of Ireland,The RTE Concert Orchestra, The Dublin Philharmonic and The Crash Ensemble amongst others. He has written scores for theatre companies Druid Shakespeare for Druid theatre (Lincoln Center Festival),The Abbey,The Royal Shakespeare Company, The British National Theatre, The Gate Theatre, the Lyric Theatre Belfast, Liverpool Playhouse, Hampstead Theatre, Coisceim Dance Theatre, The Corn Exchange and Siren Productions. Conor is on the piano faculty of the Royal Irish Academy of Music and is currently pursuing a Doctorate in Perfomance in association with Trinity College Dublin.

Susan McKeown

Grammy Award-winner and BBC Folk Music Award nominee Susan McKeown is a singer-songwriter and producer from Dublin. In a distinguished career, she has performed with Pete Seeger, Natalie Merchant, Linda Thompson, Billy Bragg, Arlo Guthrie and The Klezmatics and at venues such as Glastonbury, Carnegie Hall and The Walt Disney Concert Hall. Her most recent album Belong reached number 11 on the American Folk Music Chart and her song ‘Everything We Had Was Good’ reached number 1. In February she received the Anam Irish diaspora cultural award from IrishCentral for discovering and revealing the soul of Irish music.

Craig Cox

Craig Cox is a sound artist and composer. He has been resident sound designer with acclaimed aerial company Loosysmokes since their formation, and is an active part of Dublin's experimental music community. His work is based in improvisation, collaboration and site responsiveness. He is currently on a collaborative residency with dance artist Deirdre Griffin at Dance Limerick to produce a new work, and will be premiering a new work with Loosysmokes at this year's Kilkenny Arts Festival. 

Throughout the residencies the wider community will have an opportunity to gain an intriguing insight into the creative process through a regular online video diary created by each musician – a series of recordings where they talk about their progress throughout the residencies.

Previous Musicians in Residence have included Mongoose and Nick Roth in 2017; emerging musician and composer Sebastian Adams, The Eidola Trio which is made up of Malachy Robinson (viola de gamba), Eamonn Sweeney (baroque guitar, lute) and Anita Vedres (baroque violin), Elizabeth Hilliard and Grainne Mulvey (Opera), Matthew Jacobson (Jazz Drummer) and Metier (Jazz Quintet headed up by Ronan Guilfoyle).