# Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Joint Policing Committee 04<sup>th</sup> September 2019 @ 6.00pm Old Council Chamber, County Hall

In Attendance	
Cllr. Ann Colgan	DLRCC
Cllr. Anna Grainger	DLRCC
Cllr. Barry Ward	DLRCC
Cllr. Carrie Smyth	DLRCC
Cllr. Deirdre Ní Fhloinn	DLRCC
Cllr. Denis O'Callaghan	DLRCC
Cllr. Elizabeth Eva Dowling	DLRCC
Cllr. Jennifer Carroll MacNeill	DLRCC
Cllr. John Kennedy	DLRCC
Cllr. Lettie McCarthy	DLRCC
Cllr. Lorraine Hall	DLRCC
Cllr. Mary Hanafin	DLRCC
Cllr. Michael Clarke	DLRCC
Cllr. Séafra Ó Faoláin	DLRCC
Cllr. Shay Brennan	DLRCC
Chief Superintendent Anne	An Garda Siochana
Marie Cagney	
Acting Superintendent	An Garda Siochana
Inspector John Bourke	
Acting Superintendent Marilyn	An Garda Siochana
Brosnan	
Minister Josepha Madigan T.D.	Member of the Oireachtas
Anne Harrington	DLR Public Participation Network
Bébhinn Murphy	DLR Public Participation Network
Eimear McAuliffe	DLR Public Participation Network
Tony McCarthy	DLR Public Participation Network
Barry Cullen	DLR LDATF and LPF
Rev Asa Bjork	DLR LPF
Frank Cruise	Sandyford / Stepaside LPF
Mary Ruane	DLRCC
Dearbhla Lawson	DLRCC
Apologies	
Catherine Martin T.D.	Member of the Oireachtas
Georgina Potts	Loughlinstown/Ballybrack/Shankill LPF

# **1. Welcome and Introductions**

Dearbhla Lawson welcomed everyone to the meeting, noting this was the first meeting of the new Committee and invited round table introductions. Dearbhla thanked Ian Smalley for the presentation and briefing on JPC role and functions which had preceded the meeting.

Chief Superintendent Anne Marie Cagney welcomed new members to the JPC and introduced Acting Superintendent John Bourke in place of Superintendent Martin Fitzgerald, Acting Superintendent Marilyn Brosnan in place of Superintendent Martin McGonnell and Detective Superintendent Aidan McCarthy from the Detective Bureau.

Apologies were noted.

# 2. Election of new Chairperson

Dearbhla Lawson clarified that the meeting would proceed to the election of the Chairperson of the JPC in accordance with Section 35 of An Garda Síochána Act. Nominations were then requested. Cllr Michael Clarke nominated Cllr. Mary Hanafin. This nomination was seconded by Cllr. Carrie Smyth. There were no further nominations. Cllr Mary Hanafin was elected as Chairperson of the DLR JPC and was thanked by the Committee members.

Cllr. Mary Hanafin thanked the Committee for the nomination and gave a brief summary of the important role of the JPC and the partnership work with An Garda Siochana to support safety and security of the county.

Cllr. Hanafin welcomed Minister Madigan to the meeting and thanked her for attending.

## 3. Minutes from April 04th 2019 JPC Committee Meeting

The minutes were proposed by Cllr. Carrie Smyth, seconded by Cllr. Barry Ward.

## 4. Presentation by Garda National Protective Services Bureau

Detective Superintendent Aidan McCarthy (Garda National Protective Services Bureau) gave a presentation on the genesis, structure and role of the Garda National Protective Services Bureau, the Domestic Violence Act, 2019, Divisional Protective Services Units and the new legislation regarding Coercive Control. The Bureau focuses on investigating serious crimes against the person including domestic, sexual and gender-based violence.

Members thanked D. S. McCarthy for the informative presentation. A discussion and questions followed, and C. S. Cagney and D.S. McCarthy responded to questions on interaction with other Garda units and domestic violence refuges, the number of prosecutions, whether legislation has worked and whether more resources are required.

Action It was agreed to forward a copy of the presentation to the committee.

# **Local Police Forum Reports**

Ian Smalley presented the headlines from the combined LPF report. The Chair invited members to consider the LPF reports circulated.

C.S. Cagney responded to questions in relation to the use of scramblers on public open spaces, and updated regarding reports of burglaries, the visibility of drug dealing in some areas and the need for more Community Gardai.

It was also confirmed that the Ballybrack/Loughlinstown/Shankill LPF will be represented by Georgina Potts, but that she had sent her apologies for this meeting.

#### **5. DLR JPC Annual Workplan Priorities 2019**

Dearbhla Lawson presented the headlines on progress for the Annual Workplan priorities for 2019.

C.S. Cagney and Acting S.I. Bourke responded to questions in relation to the spike in burglaries in summer time, the interaction between Gardai and Neighbourhood Watch and challenges of calls from unsolicited tradespeople.

## 6. Update by Gardai on current Policing issues

C.S. Cagney gave a detailed report on current policing issues and crime statistics to date in the DMR East division.

C. S. Cagney and Acting S.I. Brosnan responded to questions in relation to bike mounted cameras, Garda restructuring, the possibility of an Local Policing Forum in Dundrum and or Stillorgan and the issue of illegal parking in disabled parking spaces. There was also a discussion regarding Garda restructuring plans.

The Chair thanked C. S. Cagney for her comprehensive report.

## 7. Questions Submitted

The answers to the questions submitted were noted.

#### 8. Proposed date of next meeting

The Chair advised that the next meeting will be on the 21<sup>st</sup> November 2019 with the Public Meeting taking place on the same night.

#### **9. AOB**

Tony McCarthy (PPN) asked if a letter issued regarding the Garda Band. Dearbhla Lawson replied that a letter had issued as requested.

The Chair noted the retirement of Superintendent Martin Fitzgerald from An Garda Síochána and the JPC. The Committee agreed that The Chair would write to Martin Fitzgerald to thank him for his service on the Committee.